A century of history.
Written by the Jewellers of Biella.
Ours is a history of manufacturing art made from solid Biellese roots. It all began in 1886 when Ottavio Cucco, having gained valuable experience at the reputable Gramaglia jewellery shop in Turin, opened his first prestigious jewellery shop at number 62 via Umberto, Biella. The shop soon became the city’s official jeweller, with Patek Philippe as its lead brand.
His son Leonzio was born in 1982 and inherited Ottavio Cucco’s business when he was in his late twenties. He set about following in his father’s footsteps and continued writing a story full of successes and great sensitivity. In the 1930s the prestigious brand Patek Philippe brand was joined by Rolex: at the time, representing two such noble brands at the same time was a privilege reserved for only a few, both nationally and globally.
Roberto Boglietti’s story seemed predestined, as if it had already been written. He started work in the family workshop in the 1970s: watching his father and uncle at work soon stirred in him the desire to become creative, too. Roberto watched them engraving, filing, creating objects of boundless beauty starting from a bare and simple plate, with movements that seemed akin to a dance far removed from the logic of space and time.
The Boglietti family persevered with what seemed like any other profession with professionalism and dedication. Yet Roberto was able to glimpse a sensitive, enchanting art in those spontaneous movements. He took his first steps in the world of design and enjoyed modifying and personalising the bracelets in the shop.